Costco KS-9 and Partner Mic

I have been wearing Costco KS-9 aids for about 3 years and am happy with them except when I am driving, and my wife is the passenger. My right ear has the worst hearing loss so with my wife on my right and road noise I struggle to understand her. If she is driving and I am the passenger I can understand her better. So, about a year ago I was told by the Costco tech that my KS-9 aids support the Partner Mic and I decided to try it even at $370. One problem that arose during my test period was my voice sounded very strange (hollow, echoy etc) and the tech could not seem to fix the problem. So, when I bought a new vehicle at this time which was must quieter, I decided to not keep the Mic and returned it. Now, a year later the driving problem with poor understanding conversations with the passenger has become more of a problem for me and I am starting to think about another test of the Partner mic and need some experiences from users of this mic and other less expensive options. Thanks for any advice.

If I’m in the same position, I use the Phonak Speech in 360 program. It works very well for driving.

I’m not 100% sure if your KS9 have it but as it’s meant to be a Phonak Marvel, they could have that program.

Me too. Note that Target allows a setup where when activated by the left aid button it focuses left and vice versa. Useful when you just have the one passenger/are the passenger or when out walking in noise.

2 Likes

@vtuser

Just found out that the program you need for your KS9 is called Speech Direct but it does the same thing as Speech in 360.

It’s very good for the car. If you get DirectTouch activated, then if you press the left button on your Aid, then it’ll zoom to the left and vice versus.

It’ll also zoom to the back if you have rear passengers.

3 Likes

I bought mine as a refurb from eBay for about $90 - works good as new with my KS9s.