Costco Jabra Enhance Pro Frequency Lowering

I am a newbie here. I have a pair of Costco Jabra Enhance HA. The Model shows up as Pro PM 8. I Have the Mic and Receiver in Ear version, rechargeable. PM861-DRWC. I bought these in October 2022, and am evaluating them.

My hearing is much worse in my left ear than right. Basically both pretty bad above 2k or so (55db Right, 65 db Left)…really down hill from there…OK (20db) up to 1k in right. With no HA, left is pretty dead, can function with right.

This is my first real HA. I have used some older simpler aids…but they just amplify sound…more to come…

My basic issue is that I can’t hear much of anything above 2-3k.

Summary of my comments:

I am a retired engineer…so pretty savy with the tech.

I have used the Resound SmartFit software with a Noahlink Wireless adapter to look at the HAs.

I have not done any tweaking to the as found settings by Costco.

I find the HAs to be a great amplifier, with good noise attenuation. But I expected more.

Take a look at this link:
https://apps.ntid.rit.edu/NSRT/index.php

It has a really nice speech recognition that I am using as a benchmark (as well as my own observations over the past 4 months).

Bottom line: My speech recognition score (using the above test) is NO different with 1) No HA, 2) A set of old Ovation Excel HA (old school, not programmable) and 3) the new Jabras.

This is in line with my own “field” observations. With the Jabras, sound is louder, but I can’t really understand speech any better… I wondered why?

After spending hours with the SmartFit software, I determined that the Costco Jabras are missing a key feature for my kind of loss. NO frequency lowering! Note that I found that practically all modern Resound HA (the maker of the Jabra) have a frequency lowering feature called “Sound Shaper”. This feature is missing from the Costco Jabra!