Cookie Bite HL plus brain injury? Need advice

(Newbie alert: cross posted to the other HA forum :o )

Hi everyone. I have been stalking posts, reading up and looking for info, trying to figure out whether to move forward with HAs. Little bit about me - I have long time mild-mod SNHL that started as reverse slope in childhood and is now a “cookie-bite” pattern that recently is either getting worse, or getting much harder to deal with. My mode of living is that some people I hear fine, others, not at all. If people face me, I rely on lip reading for a decent percentage of understanding, depending on how well people enunciate. I never watch TV, because I have to turn it up so loud other people can’t bear it. But, other sounds are intolerable to me (usually high frequency sounds like alarms, etc…). I generally have volume turned up fully on things like phones, the radio, etc… in order to hear well. In addition to my daily job (tech engineer) I have my degrees in music and opera, so music quality and ability to continue function in music making environments is important.

About two years ago I had a mild stroke which left me with some expressive and receptive aphasia and other cognitive challenges (ie. I get overwhelmed trying to do too much at once and seriously cannot tolerate loud environments like bars, sporting events, etc…). Since this happened, I am finding that my issues from the stroke, combined with my SNHL has made virtually everything more difficult, particularly working (I travel frequently; present at large meetings, conferences, work in a variety of environments). I find myself getting frustrated very easily and my ENT, neuro, and audi seem to think HAs may help.

My questions are: