Considerable Difficulty Outside & Restaurants and Speaking with People

I suffer from moderate to sever hearing loss in high frequencies. My diagnoses is sensoneural hearing loss. I wear Oticon More hearing aids. They help me but I still have considerable difficulties outside, in restaurants, with groups of people and when there is background noise. I am now reluctant to speak to people in social settings.

I understand that senso-neural hearing loss is incurable. I am 63 years old. I can function with Oticons but having conversations takes concentration and can be tiring.

Would a different brand of hearing aids make a difference? Are there any treatments or anything that I can do to improve my hearing?

1 Like

What you are saying is so common to all of us with hearing loss and hearing aids. I have been wearing aids for over 20 years and Oticon aids for over 13 years. I have the More1 aids, with custom ear molds, I have no problem with being outside,but noisy restaurants are an issue,as is meets, and conversations in general. I have come to finally understand and accept the fact I have severe hearing loss, with very poor word recognition.
They call hearing aids , aids for a reason they arenā€™t like glasses they arenā€™t going to give you your hearing back to normal.

7 Likes

If it has been awhile since you saw your audiologist, do pay them a visit and see if they canā€™t make some adjustments to improve your situation! One should visit the audi at least once a year for a checkup. Maybe different ear molds or other changes would help. You donā€™t necessarily need NEW aids. And donā€™t fear a sales pitch at the audi. Just resist and say you want the most advantageous adjustment. An external mic might also help you in group situations. Others here who use Oticon can advise you about this.

5 Likes

Thanks for your response!! I havenā€™t seen my audiologist for 18 months so maybe it is time for a return visit. An external mic is a good idea.

4 Likes