Complete newbie, couple of questions

Hi all,

I’m totally new to hearing aids, having suffered since a kid with perforated ear drums (worse in the left ear) audiology pic provided for reference I finally booked in at my local Specsavers and have been supplied, via the agreement they have with the NHS some Phonak Bolero M70-M’s

It’s all happened very fast, less than a week from my first screening to fitting and I have a few questions / observations. I’ve done a fair bit of reading on this forum and found some really useful info, so apologies if some of this is a repeat of what’s here but just writing it all down in one place as it’s all a little overwhelming.

The experience with Specsavers was a little hit and miss, started off great but on the actual fitting they had a new Audiologist and she wasn’t very helpful at all, just popped them in, pressed a few things on the laptop and sent me on my way. (interestingly she also said I don’t need to wear them every day, despite the original audiologist saying I need to)

• The Bolero’s seem decent from what I’ve read, but I was a little disappointed I didn’t get the rechargeable version as that’s what my local NHS hospital issue. The audiologist advised not to bother enabling Bluetooth or any connectivity (she didn’t even tell me about the app) as I’ll just drain the battery’s. This was really disappointing as I work in IT, so spend most of my days on teams calls or on the phone and would usually wear air pods on the train to work most mornings. I have connected them all up (finding the occasional music listening a little ‘tinny’ sounding) but longer term, for regular Bluetooth use, would anyone really recommend rechargeable over battery if I’m a regular Bluetooth wearer?