Comparing Oticon’s More 1 vs Intent 1

I’ve been wearing the Oticon More 1 for about two years now. Recently, I had the chance to trial the Phonak Lumity L90, and I found that my Oticon More aids were slightly better. Now, I’m in my third day of trialing the Oticon Intent 1, and here are my initial impressions:

Companion App:

The Companion App has two EQ options for the Intent 1: “sound equalizer” and “streaming equalizer”. Sound EQ applies to ambient sound and has a range of ± 6 dB for Low, Mid, and High., while the streaming EQ ranges from -12 to + 6 dB. I tried the sound equalizer while playing my acoustic guitar, and it is effective, to the point where I think it could help improve the overall experience for some of us having problems with music. Comparatively, the Oticon More 1 only has the ‘streaming equalizer,’ making this a much anticipated improvement.

Sound EQ

Streaming EQ

Quiet places:

In quiet environments, the difference between the More 1 and Intent 1 is incremental. The sound from the Intents is slightly crisper and richer compared to the Mores, although the difference is not significant.

Noisy and complex places:

I haven’t had the chance to put the Intents to a good test yet. So far, I’ve only used them a couple of times at the gym. I noticed it was easier to understand people with the Intents compared to the Mores. Additionally, the Intents handle noisy streets much better than the Mores. While wearing the Intents, I’m aware of the surrounding noise, but it doesn’t bother me as much as it did with the Mores. This made it easier to communicate with people walking next to me. However, I still need more time to find out whether the Intents are an incremental improvement, or a significant leap compared to the Mores in these challenging situations

Music: