Clicking sound in new aids

I have been wearing hearing aids since I was 6 years old and now I’m 59.

All that time I wore analog aids and now have digital aids for about two weeks - Starkey Destiny mini 800 BTE’s. (behind-the-ear)

The problem I’m having is when riding in a car or bus I will get an occasional quick clicks in either ear. For example they will click about 20-30 times total in a 40 minute drive. They continue to work the same before/after the clicks.

I told the HA provider and she did an adjustment on the background program, but it is still doing it.

Has anybody run into this problem and what was done to fix it?

I note this clicking only occurs when riding in a moving vehicle. If so, it could be the jarring motion of the vehicle is setting off something loose in the aid. Usually this is a loose battery connection. Ed

I had two different models of siemens instruments that did this on one of the programs, it was either clipping or one of the algorithms for noise reduction or speech enhancement (i.e. I do not think this is a defective instrument).

Take them back. They’re hearing aids, and they shouldn’t be making strange noises.

Clicks with Phonak & Unitron aids can occur when the LOUD gain is very close to the MPO curve.

Putting some ‘fresh air’ between the two curves prevents the hard MPO limiter firing too soon and thus reduces/prevents ‘clicks’.

Perhaps the Starkey is the same?

The HA provider contacted Starkey and they requested that we send them back - will let you know what happens.

Got the aids back and no difference, not even sure they did anything. Starkey sent me brand new aids with a new warranty. These are actually worse - they will click while in a movie theatre, too.