Checklist to use before leaving my Costco appointment with my new hearing aids?

I have a confirmed November 28 appointment at Costco to pick up my first ever hearing aids, a Jabra Enhance Pro 20 pair with M&RIE.

I am an absolute newbie to hearing aids. I also have read a lot that the M&RIE “third microphones” have had mixed actual user satisfaction reports, despite their advantages being touted by ReSound / Jabra advertisements.

So, I am wondering if there is a “checklist” of things I should try, and problems I should look for, while I am still in the store, before I leave, so that the Costco HCP can address any issues BEFORE I leave, and thus maybe save me having to make a folllow-up appointment just days later.

I know some of the basic checks, like making sure I can get my eyeglasses on and off without dislodging the HAs, and verifying that the programmed sound level is not too low, nor too high, for comfortable listening. But what ELSE should I do?

What sort of “testing” should I do while still in the store? (e.g. have the HCP make a phone call to me so I can hear what my HAs will sound like on a call? Stand right beside a glass window to simulate sitting in a car while driving? Test the “narrow cone angle” busy restaurant setting right in the Costco store? Ability to discern direction from which a specific sound is coming? etc, etc)

What sort of problems should I look for, or deliberately try to provoke? ( e.g. unpleasant occlusion? Feedback? Hair brushing against microphone? Bad Bluetooth handling? )

I’d rather find and troubleshoot issues while still in the store, rather than discover them later at home and have to schedule another appointment, especially since the Costco parking lot, and its hearing centre, both seem to be pretty busy much of the time.

Jim G

I would bring my spouse if hearing him or her is an issue and have them read a book or magazine out loud

5 Likes