Channels vs. Bands

I have been doing a lot of research on hearing aids. I have read several websites which discuss channels and bands. I have failed to comprehend what the difference is. So far, it seems like a number of channels make up a band and the band can be adjusted by the audiologist. Does anyone want to try explaining the concept for me? Thanks.

Channels usually refers to wide dynamic range compression or noise reduction processing. Bands are like the controls on a graphic equalizer, used to adjust the frequency response. Some companies use the terms interchangeably. Some hearing aids have more channels than bands, or an equal number of both. You’ll also see terms such as fine-tuning channels, fitting bands, gain handles, processing channels, frequency channels, and compression controls.

Thanks. I have seen most of these terms and have not learned enough yet to know they were all related.

I am a newbie wearing Phonak Brio R312Ts with open-dome RICs for about 6 weeks. I have had two adjustments for persistent (1) “white noise” in my left HA that accompanies loud speech or TV and (2) reverberating (echoing?) notes in both HAs when I play the piano. In both situations the unwanted sounds last less than a second after the triggering sound stops. Because he is new to Phonak, my HIS at Costco calls Phonak tech support, who walks him through adjustments. Recently they reduced my number of channels from 20 to 3 and turned off Whistleblock. This has reduced but not eliminated the unwanted sounds. I do not know if the lower number of channels is present when I turn the HAs on or only when I activate the program they set up to lower the noises. Since the default number of channels was 20, what am I giving up with the setting being turned down to 3 (intermediate numbers were available)? For example, my voice might sound a little different now, and I might have lost some speech recognition (am still at 80% of target). Also, can you suggest any other adjustments to e