Can I use a CROS hearing aid without a dome?

I am totally deaf in left ear, some hearing loss in right. I have been using an Oticon Opn S 1 in my right ear since 2019, and last week decided to get a CROS for the left side. The audiologist fitted it with a dome and retention lock (same as the right). However, my ear canals are narrow, the left more than the right, and the dome on the CROS is uncomfortable in my ear canal, despite having the smallest size (5).

Is it possible to not have a dome for the CROS at all, so nothing in my ear canal, and just use a retention lock? I also wear glasses, and the arm of the glasses does a good job of keep the HAs in place.

@SnapFish I also have a Cros aid and as far as i know only the old fashioned cros aid which was wired didn’t have to have a dome that went in the ear as the cros was a mic that sat over the ear connected to an ordniary hearing aid via a wire. It looked like this

I don’t know if there is a way you can get the Wireless Cros model’s to work without a dome . I have a similar issue with small ear canals that the dome would irriatate when I first got my wireless Cros and had to move to moulds. Someone else may know more about if the Cros will work without a dome.

Many thanks for the reply. The instructions for my Oticon CROS has a diagram with a dummy speaker in two sizes, 60 and 85, and suggested dome sizes, smallest being 5mm; I already have the smallest of both (size 60 dummy speaker and 5mm dome). It does seem from the instructions that the dummy speaker and dome are not optional.