Best Costco brand for musician

I am a professional classical singer. I am likely going to use Costco for my hearing aids. Which brand might be best for me?

1 Like

I don’t think there is any clear brand superiority for music. I’d say the one your hearing aid fitter recommends. You’ll be getting their recommendation based on what they think will be most successful for you. Do let them know music is important to you.

4 Likes

Yeah there’s no “best” as such, the best HAs are the ones that work “best” for you, you’ll need to trial a few to find this out, good luck.

1 Like

A more practical question is which hearing aid brand/model has a wide enough input dynamic range so that high intensity music level (including the vocal sound) would be captured with enough headroom to avoid clipping/distortion. General, many aids have as high as 113 or 115 dB SPL (Sound Pressure Level) for their input headroom. Avoid aids that can only support up to 96 to 105 dB SPL input dynamic range. Ask the Costco HCP for the input dynamic range spec of the brands/models they recommend or those that you want to consider.

Below is the link and also an excerpt from an article that talks about hearing aid processing at high input levels. This is a 2014 articles so it’s kind of outdated in terms of what the limit of the input dynamic range of hearings aids are. Back then, the limit was around 96 dB. Now many aids can support 113 or 115 dB SPL already. You want to make sure you get those that can support the highest SPL level.

Evaluating Hearing Aid Processing at High and Very High Input Levels | The Hearing Review.

7 Likes

Just make sure they setup a music program in the HA. It might help to play some music & sing while they tune the aids after you get use to the aids.

2 Likes

After trying for 2 years I have had my hearing aids setup by someone that really knows how to do it.

The gentleman confided in me that engineers and musicians are the hardest to fit. I’m an engineer.