Batteries

I’ve been using my Resound Alera 9’s for almost six years now. I’ve gone through a lot of batteries in that time, and in the earlier years I had a lot of batteries die on me after just 8 to about 30 hours and replaced as needed but then that threw the pairs out of alignment unless I replaced both when one failed. I’m a tightwad, and didn’t like doing that.
One night one quit on me when I was out and I didn’t have replacements with me, not having replaced the ones I had in the van the last time they were needed. When I got home, I put the aids in the dehumidifier and the next morning I put the aids on forgetting that one had died on me the previous night.
When I realized finally that one should have been replaced but now apparently doesn’t need to be, it made me wonder how many others I’ve thrown out that might have had the same situation. I’d never have known if I had replaced the one that died when it died.
After that, I made a point of just getting by for about 10-12 hours with the aid turned off, and they always came back with power again, not dying until after the other one that hadn’t had the problem.
I experimented with shorter out of service times, but when not waiting long enough, the batteries just wouldn’t work for more than minutes then. Leave them for the longer time and then they again worked just fine.
This doesn’t happen with every box of batteries but it happens with most of them. Company says they don’t understand why I have the problem.
I get a box of 40 at a time, and since my 3 year warranty plus the paid for 4th year after that, I’ve had to pay for them although they ARE cheap to buy at the company I purchased the aids from.
I switched to another companies batteries after the fourth year, but ended up around the third batch, the same thing started happening but these batteries were 3 times the price, so I went back to the old ones again.