Backup pair - Sony E10 or JLab HEAR - or any other recommendations

I’m new to a degree of hearing loss (about 6 weeks) and hearing aids (about 3 weeks) but I’m already finding them somewhat (if not absolutely) indispensable for day to day life at home with my kids and at work.

To this end I’m considering an emergency back up pair but I’m understandably reluctant to spend £3,000 on something equivalent to the Lumity L90’s I’ve currently got on trial as my main aids.

I’ve (well, up until writing the above sentence) been considering some OTC aids from the States (I’ve a helpful uncle in law in Connecticut), some $99 JLabs, some $999 Sony E10 or equivalent.

Has anyone here tried either of these and how did you get on day to day?

An alternative could just be a single lower spec Phonak aid programmed for my left ear.

What would you advise?

Some folks here buy older Rx HAs off eBay and go that way. The aids are typically one or two generations older, quite a bit less expensive, but nearly as effective as current stuff. Some even use them as their primary aids.

WH

2 Likes

Buy Hearing Aids Online UK | Shop Our Range Of Hearing Aids — HearingDirect UK Or NHS

I’ve got the Sony E10 and the sound , for me, is as good as the best high priced Rx aids I’ve tried. But they are expensive for emergency backups. Also, for emergency use I would consider something with a disposable battery.

1 Like

Why do you need 2 HAs? Looking at your audiogram I see normal hearing in one ear.

@deafstudent I don’t know. This is all very new to me (my hearing loss happened overnight about 6-7 weeks ago).

Boots say I need two to get the speech discrimination and using a pair does seem to give me a degree of that.

However, as you see, my right ear is pretty fine, it is my left that is the issue.