Background noise vs listening accessories

I’m a college professor and am need of assistive accessories to hear my students.

I’m looking at the Phonak Roger equipment. As far as I know, they are the major assistive device leader. Are there others? (Phonak even has a school division - although it’s focused on students hearing, ot the instructor’s hearing.)

Now, it’s time for new hearing aids.

Is there really that much of a difference between the various manufacturer’s performance in word recognition in challenging situations such as distance from the speaker, noisy environments or with soft-voiced speakers? (Every manufacturer has a different technology, but are any of them really superior?)

IF the performance I just mentioned is similar across the board, I’ll buy the Phonak lumity l90 with telecoil and use them with Roger assistive devices.

If there’s a big difference in overall performance, I could buy another brand of hearing aid and then use a Roger receiver for the Roger assistive devices.

I’ve looked at audiologist reviews of Phonak, Widex. Oticon, Signia and Starkey - the reviews talk about the technology, but none talk about which perform better or how to decide which is better for you. – That’s why I wonder if all the major brands aren’t actually pretty much the same in overall performance.

1 Like

@BorisBleu Welcome to the forum Professor (I hope you are not Professor Nefario); If you could post a picture of your latest audiogram if you have one, so that the good people on this forum can give you their best advice, that would be very helpful.

Not sure if there is any better than Phonak’s Roger Assistive Listening Devices, but here is a link to their education accessories, which I think you can get through the college:

Maybe worth checking Phonak Roger ON:

Thank you for the link.

I know I mentioned their school program,but it’s really focused on students hearing rather than the instructor hearing.

I do have assistance in acquiring the equipment.