Audiologists and always wear my hearing aids

In my post COVID lock-down world, I seldom wear my hearing aids. In fact averaged over the year, it comes to about one hour of use per week.But I have had two Audiologists tell me that I should wear my hearing aids almost all the time. One said that new high-tech HA’s won’t do well if not always worn. (That I would need to acclimate to the HA’s) But I live in a very quite home so silence sounds about the same with or without HA’s.
Any thoughts?

I agree with your audiologist. I have been wearing aids for over 18 years and my aids go on when I get out of bed and I never take them off until I get ready for bed.

16 Likes

I can’t hear anything with my Aids so I wear them in the home as well.

You hear with your brain as well. If you don’t stimulate the hearing / brain, then I’ve been told it’s easier to decline.

12 Likes

This can said of any HA, not just new “high tech” it’s very important to wear them as much as possible.

Well not quite, I mean there’s environmental sounds everywhere, running water, creaking floor boards, microwave beeps ,opening and closing doors, TV, these you need to hear as well, it’s not just speech as such, so living out on the farm or in town, you should use your HAs.

5 Likes

one of the reasons why you need to wear hearing aids is because the brain degrades over time. Listening to sounds is like exercise, if you don’t use that part of the brain it gets lazy over time. It can also affect your communication and ability to recognize words. It is desirable to maintain communication as much as possible or to listen to a speech, for example, a course of something. Cliff Aud said on youtube that untreated hearing is linked to dementia.

10 Likes

I got used to cooking with hearing aids… Then recently I cooked without wearing them; I didn’t hear the timer and I almost burnt the food :smiley:

4 Likes