Are you embarrassed to wear hearing aids?

Hi All,
I was wondering if anyone else feels uncomfortable and embarrassed to wear hearing aids? I know they are great and very helpful ---- but I still am not comfortable telling people I have a hearing loss and wear hearing aids. I welcome your thoughts on how to deal with this. Thank you! Betty

Betty, I understand your situation, and it’s always difficult for a while to adjust. Everyone has this discomfort to some degree. I can’t think of anything in particular to lessen your discomfort except to just “do it”, by that I mean tell everyone you come in contact with that you are hearing impaired, then over time that embarrassment goes away to either a greater or lesser extent.

I’ve been wearing aids for 38 years and still feel a little uncomfortable admitting my loss.

While I understand the problem, when I first got my aids last year I made a point of not simply letting people perhaps notice I had them but actually telling a lot of people up front that I had gotten them, pointing out how small and relatively unnoticeable they are. In three or four instances the people I told actually said they were encouraged that they ought to look into their need for aids. (I’m 66 and tend to hang out with a lot of folks in my age range)

One couple was kind of humorous. The wife privately said her husband was losing his hearing and needed aids but that she was alright. The husband, later, privately told me his wife needed them but his hearing was alright.

I have not experienced a single person who seemed to reject me, look down on me or otherwise think anything I should be embarrassed about.

My experience in all of life is embarrassment usually arises for only imagined reasons, just be who you are. The good people always rise to the top.