Allium Allergy?

Don’t laugh. I’ve been wearing HAs for 15 years. I didn’t wear them often enough to please anyone.
Last fall, I started being horrible allergic to garlic and onions (alliums). Not anaphylactic but almost.
Allergist told me……no cure….strict avoidance.
So my daughter, “G” visits me this year (first time since Covid). We go out and get breakfast (the safest meal for me to eat out)
She starts yelling at me “you can hear me!!! In this restaurant!!! What have you done?”

Apparently, I had a not so awful allergy that kept the tinnitus at high volume. I’ve not worn HAs since covid started. But she was right. I could hear her.

In the past week, I’ve been repeatedly exposed to alliums again. My tinnitus is back at screaming volume. I can’t hear anything without high volume or reading lips like I used to.

I can’t be in grocery stores, restaurants, smell seasoned food grilling. Raw, cooked or powdered requires massive Benadryl.

I think I found one cure.

2 Likes

wow, that is incredible. SO glad you have found some form or relief, however it seems the sensitivity is very high and therefore limiting. I wish you all the best in your efforts to retain your hearing!

It is WAY more limiting than wearing hearing aids. But, in the beginning before I became so sensitive to the onions etc, I may have been able to dodge both the hearing loss and the reactions I have now if I’d quit consuming alliums.

Vidalia onions were a cause for celebration. Shrimp scampi and all the great Italian and Greek food. Oh well.

What about allergy therapy, and possibly allergy shots

1 Like

Yes!! Great idea! I was also thinking that to be 1,000% sure, go see an allergist and find out anything & everything else that might trigger such a profound reaction.

Geez. I’d have to fling myself from a bridge, cuz I LIVE for Indian food. Life without sloppy curry would be verrrrry tough.

1 Like