Airplane Mode and Bluetooth Flight Rules

If airplane mode is in effect while taking off or landing, can I still use Bluetooth to connect with my hearing aids at that time.? I may be getting hearing aids soon, and just wanted to know whether airlines pose restrictions on this… Does airplane mode immobilize Bluetooth?

George R.

Just put my Oticon Opn into airplane mode. It appears to shut off Bluetooth in the aids. Also consider your other devices (phone, tablet, etc.) will also be in airplane mode.

Abarsanti: I’d be interested to know if between-HA communication still happens. Like maybe if you get tone feedback when you press a volume button and maybe you hear the tone in both sides then go into airplane mode…do you still hear the tone on both sides?

Yes - I still hear volume and program changes in both aids while in airplane mode.

I should point out that Hearing Aids are specifically exempted from FAA prohibitions on electronic devices.

1 Like

I’m no lawyer and I only took a few minutes to look but…
Yes hearing aids are exempt but if you have a bluetooth radio in them then that feature is not required for hearing for safety. And it’s a radio and so does that radio need to be turned off? But no I couldn’t find specifics in my somewhat brief search.

OP: I seem to think that the purpose of Airplane Mode in hearing aids is to turn off the bluetooth radio. The HA’s can still do what they need to do for your safety.

The rule is clear (at least in the US or on US-certified carriers. Hearing aids are unconditionally exempt. You may need to turn off your phone or whatever you have streaming to them, but there’s no need to turn off the aids (or any feature on them).

Interesting then that looking at the manual for the OPN that they expressly say to go into Airplane Mode for those times that you’re not supposed to be using radios.