Wow

I have been reading postings about internet purchases and I am really surprised by the vitrol and complete lack of empathy and understanding aimed at people who are simply trying to improve their lives by some of the folks here. Talk about an elitist attitude.

I am a law enforcement professional and find myself in a situation where hearing aids have become a neccesity in order for me to safely continue in my profession. I have insurance through work which will provide a very nominal reimbursement, but will not come near covering the cost of ha’s. I had my hearing tested through the insurance program and was told that I would benefit from ha’s and the provider made two recommendations for aids that would benefit me and my particular situation. Unfortunately, it was not financially doable for me at the time.

I am contributing to the care of elderly disabled parents, and at the same time have had my compensation reduced due to the current economic situation, so unfortunately, the cost for ha’s locally is still out of reach for me. Additionally, the person who did the initial testing and recommendation is no longer practicing.

I was able to obtain a pair of the same brand aids as was recommended by purchasing them on line used. This was the only avenue available to me at this time, and while not ideal, I felt it was a reasonable thing to do.

Fortunately, I was able to find a local audiologist who understands my situation and is willing to work with me on a fee basis. I spoke with several other local business and got varying responses from helpful to completely hateful before settling on this gentleman, who just coincidentally happens to be the closest to me. Hopefully this will be a workable solution for me.