Would a BTE perform better for my loss?

I’m so glad to have found this community. Clearly people who like to geek out as much as I do. I have some background in signal processing from my work so it’s really nice to be able to get so much info.

I’ve been reading and reading. I’m having a lot of problems with my RIC tests (Oticon Opn 1 and resound linx 3d 9) in noisy environments. Even just with a few voices it always sounds like the receiver is being over loaded (like if you turned your amp up to 11 and it couldnt handle it).

I’m wondering if moving the receiver further away into a BTE until would improve this with my unusual loss. I know it’s not as severe as most BTE users but I’m also anticipating it worsening quickly.

I’m also wondering as I was a professional musician with advanced classical training, whether my ear just work a bit differently from other people’s as they have been trained to pick up small differences in timbre. Thanks!

It sounds like they need adjustment. Mine get a little distorted and with a sharp response if I change to vented domes. If I raise the bass it goes away. If I put my fingers in my ears to seal it goes away. So Rasmus was correct again in that I need to increase the bass when wearing the vented domes.

I don’t think it has anything to do with the receiver style. If anything I would think the speaker sitting directly in front of the eardrum would be a purer sound than sending the sound down a plastic tube. But I know lots of people get good results with the BTE.

Thanks. I have been playing with the linx app and when I turn down the bass all the way it’s a lot better without the distortion but then I can’t understand better either! That’s why I’m wondering if I troublenprcessing the sound when it’s blasted so close to my (normally functioning) eardrum. I have mini earmolds

it could if the blue line comes down to where I am :slight_smile: