Widex Release Cycle

Hello, new user here. I’ve been browsing the forum and it looks like a helpful group of knowledgeable folks here. I hope I can contribute over time.

I have a question about Widex. I am looking at replacing my current Widex Dreams (circa 2013) with Widex Evoke Fusion 2 440’s. I have moderate hearing loss and tinnitus. My Dreams (including the Zen) were a life-saver and I have been very happy with Widex and its support. Recently got my annual hearing check. My hearing is stable and still within the parameters of the Dreams. My audi suggested the Evokes as I would like streaming from my iPhone and she feels that these aids would be a good match for me. I have done some research and like the apps that come with the Evokes, the ability to tailor certain sound situations, etc. I am a longtime IT professional and I like high-tech stuff. So, I am seriously looking at getting the Evokes. Here is my dilemma:

The Widex Beyonds were released in 11/2016. The Evokes were released in 4/2018. That is about a 17 month interval. If Widex upgrades on a reliable cycle (think Apple and iPhones) then a new version would be expected this fall. I’d hate to plunk down $7k+ on the Evokes only to have the next rendition come out a month or two later.

Since my current Dreams are still working I can wait a bit but I would like to get the sound improvements that I suspect have occurred over the past 6 years plus iPhone streaming, apps, etc.

So, does Widex have a predictable release schedule? Any ideas or advice is much appreciated. Thank you.

2 Likes

Hello, and welcome. I, too, have the Dream 330s and are near the five year cycle I have to replace. I understand what your dilemma is. The Evokes have been out a few years and there is this new methanol fuel cell on the horizon. The machine learning on the Evokes looks interesting but I would need a new Dex home landline as mine would not be compatible. I know there is direct streaming to iPhone only.