Widex Mind to Clear and M-Dex

Has anyone out there gone from a Widex Diva or Widex Mind440 to a Widex Clear?

I have unilateral hearing loss, right ear moderate to profound. (sorry I can’t find my last audiogram to post the stats). I’ve been wearing a hearing aid for 25 years, and am pretty brand loyal to Widex but have used a Starkey and Oticon in the past.

I loved my Diva, and two years ago was talked into a Oticon Agil as a step up that didn’t work out. I swapped the Agil for the Mind (was also to be a step up) and have never been 100% happy with it like I was with the Diva. I’m now contemplating a Clear as the Mind just frustrates me.

I have the hardest time hearing in noisy situations and in groups larger than six, which unfortuantely makes up a large part of my job. The audiologist demoed the Clear for me using the party sounds in the background and so far things seem like this might be a good fit for me. She has answered all my questions and has been very patient, but since she isn’t a hearing aid user I’m not certain that she can truly relate. My questions are:

If you went from the Mind to the Clear did you find that it actually was an improvement? I know everyone is different, but knowing someone else had a good/bad experience helps.

Is the M-Dex as a remote control helpful or just a pain to carry around? As an experienced hearing aid wearer is it still just as easy to click the button on the aid or are there just to many program options to make that practical?

Does anyone stream music on their M-Dex through an Ipod? I am intrigued by this feature and think it will be pretty awesome to hear music in stereo :).

Thanks in advance for any insights you can provide.

Amy

Consider a CROS system to give yourself better spatial awareness. If you aren’t that happy with Widex, perhaps try out another brand before you buy. The m-dex is one of the better mono streaming options.

Hello Amy,