Widex Dream 440 vs. Siemens Binax 7 vs. Phonak Audeo V90

I am demoing a pair of Widex Dream 440 for a week or so. Compared to the Oticon Agil Pros I have been using since 2006 the sound clarity is unbelievable.

My main issue is speech in noise. I am an actor and a comedian and I’m 44 years old living in NYC. I spend a lot of time in clubs and bars and I need to be able to hear in crowded environments. So far (4 hours) the Widex are incredible. I’m able to hear and locate sounds that I haven’t noticed in years. And the sound is incredibly natural to the point that I forget I have them in at some times. I am just curious if people have tried the Siemens Binax or Phonak with Stere Zoom and can speak to how they compare to the Widex specifically in conversations with lots of background noise.

I initially picked up a pair of Kirkland 6.0 and I find them to be garbage. I am almost positive the aids are programmed for the opposite ears as well.

I will post a follow up thread comparing my experience with these four aids after I’ve demoed them.

The Spatial Configurator on the binax is IMO an firsthand by feature. Surely worth a try in the environment you describe.

Hi there,
I trialed a pair of Widex Dream 330s about a year ago, they sounded more natural than the Phonak Audeos I was using at the time. I’ve been wearing Siemens Carat Binax for about 6 months now, best performance in noise of anything I’ve had to date. Just last night I was out with a friend at a noisy bar. Switched to narrow focus mode, and I was doing better than my friend (who has normal hearing) understanding in noise.

I’m 45 and in Brooklyn too, by the way.
Dave

I have the Audeo V90’s and rarely, if ever, touch them to change the automatic setting. I’ve tried them in many different situations and they always work to my satisfaction. I’ve never tried another brand, though.

find an audiologist you can trust

Hi,