Widex CIC vs BTE

Hi all

I’ve been using a Widex senso diva CIC in my right ear for the last 3 years… now the hearing in my left ear has dropped and I need an aid for that one too, so I’m buying two new ones.

My audiologist is really pushing me to go with two BTEs, but Ive had a good experience with my CIC-- though I’ve never tried a BTE. Is there anybody out there who has experience with both? Is the different dramatic, in terms of understanding speech in noisy environments, and localizing sounds? I’m turned off by the BTE because I’m young (25) and active, i like to play sports with the hearing aids in, and I dont want something that is noticeable

I’m leaning towards going with two Widex inteo CIC’s

the new generation micro BTE are so small that most people wont even notice it is there… you can get things like directional microphones and auto telecoil which should be a great add on…
I would strongly recomend it !

I wore Widex ITC aids for a few years. They were larger than CICs, but didn’t fill up the whole ear.

Right now I’m wearing GN ReSound Pulse open fit BTE aids, and prefer them over the Widex ITCs. With the open fit, there’s little to no occlusion, so my own voice sounds normal. The BTEs are much easier to maintain, and more comfortable overall.

That having been said, if you wish to wear the aids and play sports, particularly if you perspire a lot, CICs would probably be my preference. A BTE that’s sitting in a pool of perspiration behind your ear and not working properly because the battery has shorted out is of no use.

These GN ReSound Pulse aids seem to be fairly perspiration resistant, and there are some new aids on the horizon like the Starkey Zon BTE that appear to be very moisture proof, but your plan sounds like the best bet.