Why wait to insert new batteries in their receptacles?

I’ve always been impatient. So, I interrupt my wife; I send emails without proofreading them; I fasten my seatbelt while backing out of the garage.

AND, I pull the stickers off new 312s and put them in my Phonak hearing aids immediately rather than wait for 10 seconds, or 30 seconds, or 2 minutes.

What’s the reason we’re advised not to do that, and how long, really, must we wait? Can we wait with the batteries nestled in the HAs with the battery receptacles open, or must they sit uncovered on a non-conducting surface where they might be discovered by my cat while I wash my glasses?

2 Likes

Waiting allows the chemical reaction to proceed long enough to raise the voltage. I’m not an engineer, but my understanding is that if one doesn’t wait to let the voltage rise and use immediately that the batteries won’t last as long. I haven’t read anything convincing for waiting more than a minute and waiting with hearing aid doors open should be fine. That said, I tend to wait several minutes and anecdotally, batteries seem to last a little longer.

2 Likes

One minute is enough to get the chemical reaction going. But having said that, I rarely wait that long and I can’t say I notice that the battery life is any less.

1 Like

I never wait after peeling the label and cant say that I’ve noticed any less battery life. I get at least 5 sometimes as much as 7 days between battery changes. My data logging says I use my HA’s an average of 14.7 hours a day, all of my mobile calls, music etc. are streamed, and that’s with at least a couple of hours a day of TV streaming to them as well.

I’ve noticed some say wait a minute, others as much as 5-7 minutes. It may have come from a time when the batteries actually needed time to start up, I doubt with todays technology they still need this time.

2 Likes