Why it is so hard to get Connectivity working with Android

The below information is from a professor that has to explain the issues with Android to his students.
His name is Terry Austin and he is on Facebook and post on the Oticon OPN users group

I actually think I CAN explain why…

This is one of my favorite topics to try and explain.

I’m an online professor and regularly have to explain to my college students why Android phones sometimes won’t use the software they’re supposed to run on either phone or computer. LOTS of my students’ Android phones will not run the software they’re required to have (relax, they can run it on their computers too)

You can love or hate Apple or Android but you can not escape the reality of these two platforms.

Apple makes the iOS operating system. Apple makes iPhones. They are ONE company in charge of the entire platform.

Meanwhile over on Android… Google makes the operating system

As of 2015 there were 1,300 companies making phones to run Android software, and a grand total of over 24,000 individual phone models. According to a close friend of mine who is an editor for a major technology website the current number is over 30,000 individual models of phones available. In the words of that same friend “”it’s amazing that developers can support Android at all. It’s a hardware crap show!” (Not exactly the word he used)

Now, imagine the headaches that Oticon would have trying to make their product work with over 30,000 distinctly different hardware configurations.

Just imagine the customer complaints they would have if they suddenly announced “now compatible with Android”, only to find that a substantial portion of those 30,000 different models don’t play nicely. Suddenly they get accused of “not supporting MY Android”…