Why Don't Hearing Aids Cause Damage to the Ears?

With some people fitted with hearing aids that have certain frequencies amplified by 70 DB or more, why aren’t their ears permanently damaged?

Since the human voice produces an audible sound of about 60 SPL DB and if that frequency was amplified by 70 SPL DB by hearing aids, the ear would receive a total 130 SPL DB which is well beyond where permanent ear damage can occur.

I don’t think you will find anyone who this level of amplification is undamaging, but the option is to not hear. Overall, discussion of this topic is taboo (ignorance is bliss).

I’m not a pro but I don’t think most hearing aids produce that much sound. 60 DB sounds get boosted, as well as 30 DB and 80 DB sounds but there is a limit. My UCL (uncomfotable level) is set to around 117 but it would have to be a loud sound to get to that level. Most things come in somewhere between 40 and 105, depending on the frequency. I don’t need that much boost in the lower frequencies and there is not that much sound coming in, in the higher frequencies, in human speech. So those high frequencies are getting hit very, very briefly.

In your example, if a person had 90 DB of loss and there was speech at 60 DB, the hearing aid should be set up to boost that only up to where the person could hear it, maybe 100 DB (boost of 40DB), even if the hearing aid was capable of boosting things up 70DB.

Eh?

If I say: not true, does it save me having to explain a lot of stuff about conductive losses gain rules, compression and the like?

Also dB HL vs. dB SPL?

Yes, but that’s just the semantics (Also dB(Aeq)).

It’s the original statement that I object to - the one that infers that hearing aid manufacturers and audiologists are deliberately making people’s hearing worse in the long term. It’s ill-informed nonsense, but I don’t want to appear ‘combative’ or ‘lacking in class’ in terms of my response.