Why does a low frequency loss require a custom fit mould?

I’m going to my NHS appointment next Monday and would appreciate some advice so that I can talk with some degree of confidence to the audiologist.

I have a low frequency loss of around 45/50 db at its worst and sloping back up in the high frequencies. I have been fitted with 2 Siemens Chroma S and custom ear mould(with a small air vent) with open fit tubing. I absolutley hate the moulds and feel blocked up and even at times dizzy. It has not helped my hearing in the classroom situation at all (I’m a teacher) so have stpped wearing them as I cannot do my job properly with them.

I would prefer a more open fit but the audiologist insists this is what I need and would even use the same mould for RIC aids which they hope to get soon. This was not what I was led to believe when I saw a few private audiologists a few months ago.

Could someone in the business please explain to me why the custom mould is necessary? Could I manage a more open fit style especially with RIC aids?

In other words how do I explain to the audiologist that what I have been given is not working for me?

Will I have a better chance with private aids or will I just be offered the same?

I’d suggest checking with www.americahears.com, faxing or emailing your audiogram, then calling them for their opinion of whether a mold is necessary. I found the audiologist who answered their phone when I called to be very knowledgable and helpful.

1 Like

For What Its Worth…
(I am not an Audiologist just another Low Freq Loss HA user. My scores, posted below my signature, seem close to what you have described)

I saw 4 different AuDs and they all said I would probably need to use custom molds. However, every HA that did trials on was fit with open or most often tulip domes (often called plus domes).