Which Digital to get for a techie?

I’m a 36 year old computer professional with advanced hearing loss. I’ve been wearing hearing aids since I was 13 years old, been through about 4 sets so far. I’ve always worn small in-ear aids, my current model being a standard Siemens digital that I’ve had to get rebuilt about 5 times. Once a year the mic seems to go out on me due to sweat or buildup.

I’d like to purchase a new set, I recently took these current ones again to have the mic’s rebuilt to a local guy whose FDA approved and has been in business for 30 years building custom digital hearing aids. He replaced the mics in about 20 minutes for me.

In the meantime, I want to get a new pair. I love the idea of bluetooth through my iPhone as I listen to music quite often, and want to get something like Siemens Aquaris. I’m a bigger guy so I sweat when doing any activity …

Now, today when I was talking to the guy who custom builds them, he said waterproof aids have been back and forth a few times and that I’d still have an issue with humidity with a behind the ear kind. Plus, Bluetooth is still relatively new and I would rather wait for an aid that has built in bluetooth without the need of a neck loop.

I have a severe hearing loss yet he told me he could build me a small in the canal style aid that would avoid a lot of the sweat issues. Those would be better for my situation than a behind the ear one.

He warrants his for 2 years… and does all repairs on site … which is a big plus to me. Cost is comparable.

I’m interested yet questioned … go with the big guys again, siemens, starkey, etc… or someone who custom builds them and works directly with his clients?

I am simply not a fan of back yard hearing aid manufacturers.

I’ve dealt with a few on my travels and the big problem is that these companies lack the resources of the big players.