What is the advantage of a hearing aid having more channels?

For instance, there is lots of discussion about two of the aids sold by Costco- the Rexton Trax 42 and the Kirkland Signature 6.0. The Trax, as it’s name indicates, has 42 channels. The Kirkland’s has only 17 channels.

What other specifications should I be comparing and which ones are worth paying more for?

Thanks for any information you can offer. I am new to this and this is a big decision both financially and emotionally for me. I want to get it right.

Grouper

I have had both, Grouper. I see no difference between 16 and 42 channels beyond advertising. I am wearing the Trax now and will likely return to the KS6. So many here were promoting the Trax that I figured I’d always kick myself for not trying them. In my ears sofar, the KS6 seem marginally better, ymmv.

Thanks for responding Ken. I am researching buying an Iphone 5s on the secondary market so I can use it paired with my new KS6’s when I buy them. I decided tonight that is the way i want to go.

your priority should be finding an aid with a wide frequency range.

This frequency business seems like the old audiophiles arguing. Even with young ears I never saw much difference. We are worried about speech and not the high vibrato of a violin. I don’t see a difference in speech – although above 7Khz I may not have hearing. The KS6, for me, did a marginally better job in noise.

I guess what I am saying is that at this point you need to try the aids out and see what they can do for you and then decide if the added cost works for you. You could actually go into Costco and tell them to order both and put it on plastic. If you get the American Express when you do, you get 6 months interest free, so you could trial both for a month and have it not cost you. You should figure out which is best for you in a month or so.

Ken, Great advice and very good perspective too! Thanks for sharing. Ron ♫

lol, this is so very sad