What is a fair price to pay for a pair of Audéo P-90R in the US?

I will purchase from a local indie audiologist, but from what I learned over the last few years, one can negotiate. For obvious reasons, it’s great to have the local personal service (I bought online the last time), but am trying to determine what a fair price is, rather than MSRP or whatever the dispenser likes to sell them at. Assume no accessories other than the charger. I want to be reasonable to the audiologist, but also am on a budget (no insurance). I’ve been wearing HAs for 11 years and don’t expect to need a lot of care and feeding visit-wise. One respondent in the Phonak FB group answered as follows: “I sell 90’s with $4700, warranty 3 year, all visits included.” It would be useful for me to hear from others.

This site will allow you to choose an aid, such as the phonak p90 and get a quote from a local audi. I’ve seen the functionality although haven’t used it.

However, the phonak p90 is sold at Costco as the kirkland ks10 (same device with their brand) for $1400 for a pair including service and cleaning, visits, etc… If budget is too priority they are the way to go.

Found the feature you are describing. They offer a summary of deals here: Local Hearing Aid Discounts - $800 Average Savings
Age-old debate of buying from Costco vs. an Indie audiologist.

Best I can tell the KS10s are defeatured enough that it I’m leaning towards buying the read deal, and at least per Cliff Olson, perhaps not the best option for someone with high frequency lost (me). Obviously up for debate.

The only feature that isn’t setup is the tinnitus. It’s available but costco won’t configure it. You could turn it on yourself though. Otherwise it is not defeatured at all. Not sure what Dr cliff is saying but the ks10 is a phonak p90 with a kirkland sticker on it.

3 Likes