What is a BAHA device?

Hi
What’s a BAHA? Would it help with an audio processing disorder?

0 Likes

BAHA and CI are almost the same type of system. They both are implanted behind the ear and into the bone. The BAHA is use for people who have constant Ear Infections. This is info is based on reading a couple of articles! I am no expert but I think with my post it will jump start people who have more knowledge.:stuck_out_tongue:
Ted

0 Likes

No offense rockasanted but the BAHA is not like a CI and is really a Bone Anchored Hearing Aid (BAHA is the acronym).

The BAHA works like a traditional HA in that your “normal” hearing mechanisms are used. It is physically secured to the bone behind an ear and transmits an amplified acoustic signal to the inner ear where it is processed by your existing “hair cells” and routed to the auditory nerve.

Google “BAHA” - There’s a wealth of information out there and the BAHA has met with success in it’s unique market.

0 Likes

How much does the baha experience cost?
I am thinking of about trying this approach…

250 70
500 80
1000 80
2000 70
3000 85
4000 85
6000 110
8000 105

0 Likes

BAHA and CI are not nearly the same…

they are similar in what they are implants… but that about it

0 Likes

Several thousand dollars total.

It will be of use to you ONLY if you have a conductive hearing loss.
Use a standard hearing aid if you have nerve hearing loss.

0 Likes

you can use baha for ssd

0 Likes

for CAPD you need to wear something like an FM, if your hearing level is normal then the edulink is the only choice

0 Likes

My just retired Pastor has a traditional behind ear hearing aid in one ear and a BAHA on the other. He says it is better than nothing at all but has all the same complaints about his BAHA that anyone else may have about a traditional hearing aid. Ya know, background noise, speech understanding issues with small children etc. It snaps into a hole that was drilled into his head. Hope I never have to go that route.