What does "natural sound" even mean?

It’s a term that seems to be cropping up a lot when describing certain hearing aid brands, but is it just marketing or does it mean something?

I’ve heard it mentioned about Oticon and Widex in particular, but as I’ve been wearing Phonak for the past five years (and Starkey before that) I can’t really compare without trying them on (yes, I intend to).

I spent the first 20 years of my life with analog hearing aids and another 20 with digital of various brands, but it’s hard to remember what they each sounded like! :grin:

1 Like

There are some aids that will distort back ground noise or tweak background noise to try to help with speech comprehension. Some aids I’ve tried add additional bass to background noise so I couldn’t tell the difference between a car truck or motorcycle. For those with less serious hearing loss there shouldn’t be a huge difference with how things sound with or without the aids. So natural sounding is things still sound the same. I’m not talking louder. Of course it will be louder. But I should still be able to differentiate between a bird or a car or a truck. It should still sound natural. Of course everyone perceives sound differently. So what I think sounds bad others may say it sounds normal. Which is why trials for hearing aids can be so important. Especially with those that have a more severe loss

2 Likes

My take is that it’s a pretty useless term. (others will wholeheartedly disagree) It is not defined. For most people it means hearing like they’re used to. So, if you haven’t heard high frequency sounds in quite awhile and all of a sudden you can, many people will say it sounds unnatural. I’d focus on speech understanding and being able to discriminate other important sounds in one’s life. We get used to changes in hearing incredibly quickly, so a new “natural” often develops if one gives it time. Cochlear implant recipients are very familiar with this phenomenon.

7 Likes