Waiting Too Long to Get HAs Loses Ability to Understand Words?

An acquaintance who seems to know quite a bit about hearing loss said if you wait too long to get HAs you can permanently lose the ability to distinguish words. This doesn’t seem reasonable to me. Has anyone else heard of this? If so, do you know of a reference I could read about it?

If a person only uses one hearing aid for many years, and then tries to use two hearing aids, the brain seems to only notice noise in the newly aided ear; speech recognition seems to be lost. This is just my opinion; I am not an expert. A member of my family seems to have this problem; her audio gram of the formerly unaided ear shows the same loss as the one that was always aided and yet she can not understand speech from the formerly unaided ear with the result that she does not use the new hearing aid.

I have heard it suggested that the auditory neurons get reallocated to vision if left too long without significant signals.

This means that reactivating the hearing system via a hearing aid will no longer work because ‘nobody is at home’ in the brain.

The term is auditory deprivation.

You can think of it as the brain getting lazy and paying less attention to listening for sounds that it no longer hears properly. Like not exercising a muscle for so long it wastes away.

I don’t have any science to throw at you right now. But from personal observation, it does seem to me that the longer a patient waits to try hearing aids, the more time and effort it takes to get them hearing well again. And those who leave it a really long time don’t seem to ever enjoy the same quality of results as those who tackle the problem early on.

Because there is little hard proof of this effect - although most believe it does indeed exist - we in the UK are STRONGLY advised NOT to mention it to clients … especially if you try to use fear of this effect to convert a single aid sale to a double aid sale.