Very successfull non-standard DIY fitting strategy

I’m new to DIY hearing aid programming, and my first experience at it has been dramatic. I have moderate high frequency hearing loss, and the quality of sound I am getting now is far better than what I’ve had for the last 4 years --since I stared wearing HAs on a regular basis. I used a different (unique?) fitting protocol, and I’d like to share it with others here.

My HA software (Starkey Inspire) has a Fine Tuning section where you can specify the output volume for a dozen diferent frequency bands (200Hz to 8000 Hz) for any of 3 input volume levels (soft, moderate, and loud). The control looks just like a traditional EQ device with sliders you can move up and down. I cleared out all the existing settings (noise correction, automatic learning, etc) and took each slider down to zero for all input levels. I set the compression to 1:1. In a sound editing program (Sony Sound Forge Pro), I created a .WAV file with a sequence of tones (each 3 seconds long) that corresponded to the frequency bands on the EQ control. Then, with my hearing aids connected to the programmer and wearing a good quality set of headphones (Bose Noise Cancelling), I played the tones. From hearing-test software I had used previously (freehearingtestsoftware.com), I found that 200Hz, for me, had the least loss of all the frequency bands, so I used that as my baseline and set the playback volume of my headphones to a moderate level. For each subsequent tone (going from low to high), I would adjust the slider so that it had the same perceived volume as the previous tone. After I was done, I set the compression to maximum for all frequencies and input levels (3:1) and set the attack/release speeds to the maximum allowed.