Used phonak

Hi, I’m new to HA’s and was just tested with moderate to severe high freq. loss. My audi suggested phonak smart IX which I just can’t afford. I originally went in for positional vertigo and had to go back for follow up a few days later. So I did a little research and found that I could save a few thousand dollar online. I ask her about this and her price includes repairs and adjustments for free each visit. She indicated she understood my financial problem and if I chose to purchase on line she would still help me. Well last night I found a used pair of smart IX on ebay and in corespondence with the seller they had warranty until 8/27/12 making them 2-3 yr old depending on his warranty at purchase.
They were about to end and no one had bid with 5 hrs. left. He also said “they were in GOOD shape”. Starting bid was $975 with buy it now $1495. I thought oh well bid and if out bid it wasn’t meant to be. Got beat by $10 bid at 3:30am with auction end at 5:30am.
So with all that did I make a big mistake passing this up or is it a bad idea to buy used?

I purchased a used Phonak “yes III” aid on line four years ago for $400. It was being sold by an audi that took it on trade. Best deal I ever made made. Still use it today as my everyday aid even though I purchased Phonak Spice aids for the BICROS option. I program it myself, so I don’t need to see an audi for that service. Always need to be careful on ebay, but I’ve found most people will be honest if you ask the right questions before purchase and they have good feedback.

“in corespondence with the seller they had warranty until 8/27/12”

I have checked with Phonak recently and was informed that the warranty is not transferable. Although this is an indicator of the age, it might be a consideration for those who are looking to go this route on the later models.

Smart S HA’s have only been out for about a year, Smart (pre-spice chip) only about 2 years.