Unusual hearing loss pattern?

Hi,

I’ve been reading this forum for a while and find the advice really useful, but have only just registered. I’ve been wearing hearing aids for about 20 years and am currently trialling Phonak Audeo S 9 RITE with power domes. I’ve also recently tried Oticon Agil Pros and Starkey S7 ITE.

The audiologist has made a lot of adjustments but I seem to have the same problem with all the aids in that I’m still having problems making out some speech even in quiet - I can hear the sound as loud enough but can’t make out the speech. Also sounds are very processed / metallic / artificial especially in noisy situations. They are still better than previous aids I’ve had, especially in terms of noise reduction and speech in noise, and I would really like to keep them if we can sort out the problems.

We are still working on adjustments, and I’m due to meet with the Phonak rep this week to see if they can suggest anything else.

I am aware that I have a fairly rare pattern of hearing loss, and every audiologist I have worked with has advised me that this pattern is particularly hard to fit.

I was wondering if anyone on here has a similar pattern, and if so would be willing to share any experience on what aids / adjustments have worked best? I’ve glanced at audiograms when I’ve read posts but haven’t seen any that are similar so far.

Thanks,

Delfin

Hz…L…R
250.40…40
500.60…60
1k…65…70
2k…65…70
3k…55…55
4k…55…55
6k…45…40
8k…40…40

On some of the better Starkey aids, and I dare say other brands too, there is sometimes the feature to do a hearing test using the aids themselves to generate the sound.

The prescription for your loss is then based on the actual acoustic response of your actual aids, based on threshold and ULL. Thus ensuring the fitting is nicely within your dynamic range.

Then as far as voices go, that’s going to have to do with compression ratios and kneepoint settings.