Universal streamer?

Hi All,
Thanks for contributing to this forum. I’ve learned a lot just by reading the posts. I’ve got new Oticon Agile BTEs on trial. Since I’m new to HAs, they seem to be working well so far. However, they were expensive ($5500). I’m interested in bt streaming, but I’m not ready to fork over the $550 for the Oticon streamer just yet. Seems like a lot of $ for something basic (by today’s technology). Is there a lower cost option that I can use with especially with my phone and tv?

If your audiologist wants $550 for the Streamer they are ripping you off. Call around and see if what the other audi’s in your area want for it and if that doesn’t work go online and see what you can buy it for; I think Hearing Planet sold them for about $250.

Maybe I wasnt clear enough. The $550 is for the complete package, streamer, tv connect, landline connect. Checked Hearing Planet, but they don’t seem to carry it.

I have been using the Oticon streamer for six months, and find it extremely useful.

First, my audiologist only charged approx $250-$300 for the streamer.

Next, i find the volume control very useful, and in meetings use it constantly to adjust the volume for each speaker.

The Bluetoth connection is great for my cell phone, although i did have to upgrade to a new cell. My old phone was 4+ years old, and while it was a BT phone, it just did not work well with the streamer. The new phone works great. I had avoided using the cell phone before i had the BT streamer. Now i prefer cell over land lines.