Unitron Passport Fuse - 2 weeks Later

Now that I’ve worn the Unitron Fuse open CIC for a couple of weeks I wanted to post some thoughts for those of you considering them.

Some background on me: I’ve been wearing aids for 20 years, most of the time custom CIC’s and then open ear BTE’s for the last 5 -6 yrs. I try most of the new aids that come out as part of my job as both a internet and brick & mortar store provider.

The two major concerns with the Fuse are physical fit and feedback.

If you can find a comfortable dome size that keep the aids secure in your ears you’re off to a great start. With my hearing loss I first tried the closed dome but found it uncomfortable and occluding. I then went to the open 7 mm dome and all comfort issues went away and the aids seem to stay in fine. The aids come with a selection of dome sizes and they are very easy to change.

Acoustic feedback is the next hurdle. I believe the amount of hearing loss I have is right at or slightly beyond the limit that these aids will fit. The feedback manager is very good but will only do so much. The Smart remote was included in my package and I needed it to turn down the aids to stay slightly below where feedback started occurring.

The above are really the only concerns I’ve had with the Fuse. Sound quality is as good as is available on the market today. I believe my hearing even with the aids turned down slightly was as good or better than any other hearing aids I’ve tried in the past couple of years. Although I needed to turn down the volume or hit the phone button on the remote hearing on the phone is the best it has been since I quite wearing custom CICs.

Fuse are really small and fit almost invisible in the canal and once I found the correct size dome for my canals my ears felt as open as they have with any of the open fit mini BTEs I’ve tried.