Unitron Latitude vs Siemens Life

Hi all,

This is an useful forum, so glad I found it. Newbie here, just learned how to read an audiogram. How to select a hearing aid seems beyond me.

Can anyone point me to resources where I can learn what the various features mean and which ones I need the most (i.e. how many “channels of signal processing” should I look for, what is DuoLink etc)?

Also, the audi (newport) gave us 3 choices of Unitron BTE (Basic, Std, Advanced to choose from depending on our budget):
Basic - Unitron Newsound
Standard - Unitron Latitude 4 Moxi 3G
Advanced - Unitron Latitude 16 Moxi 3G.

Didn’t really mention others until I asked about Siemens which was the only brandname I recognized. Maybe because we have HMO (Blue Shield), not sure:
Basic - Siemens Life 101
Standard - Siemens Life 301
Advanced - Siemens Life 501

So, should I choose between these or ask for other options? Between Unitron and Siemens, which is better? I understand this depends on the user environment, fit, frequency of loss etc but just curious in a comfort-by-numbers way.

Thanks!

Freq R L
0250 20 25
0500 25 15
1000 25 15
1500 45 35
2000 55 50
3000 60 60
4000 70 60
6000 75 65
8000 85 75

Latitude platform has just been upgraded, either push for the newer ‘Era’ platform or look for a discount on the older product.