Trying Out Starkey Destiny 1600 and 1200: Questions and Thoughts?

Hi all, newbie here. :smiley:

I have a severe to profound hearing loss in both ears that I’ve had since birth (I’m 31 now). Up until 2003 I’ve been wearing analog aids, and that year I decided to try for digitals. My first digital aids were Phonak’s Supero 413 AZ models. These aids were extremely powerful, but they only had two settings: Crappy, and Really Crappy.

My audiologist wasn’t much help either. She was too busy hitting me up for money to be bothered programming these aids to their optimal settings. But that’s a story for another day.

As soon as my insurance renewed its voucher towards paying for new hearing aids I ran for my life and went back to my old audiologist, who dealt almost exclusively with Starkey. He fitted me with Starkey’s Destiny 1600, and ordered the Destiny 1200 Power Plus aids on backup in case the 1600 weren’t powerful enough.

My initial impression with the 1600 was that I was finally on to something here. He still had to juice it almost to the max, but wanted me to try it for a week. I had to get used to the dampening effect the 1600 sometimes caused, which could get pretty disorienting at times. I also had two major gripes: the autocoil was awful with the phone. I would put the phone to my ear, it would switch to telecoil, and then switch back inexplicably as I tried to engage the caller. Absolutely maddening. It worked best when I wore my headset, where I didn’t have to worry about handshake causing the autocoil to switch off, and when listening to music the sounds were rich, and I could hear almost the entire soundstage. The only thing is for some reason both the 1200 and 1600’s telecoils give off this annoying pulsating sound (sounds like a heartbeat) every few seconds or so, and I have no idea why. Anyone else ever experience this? It’s aggravating enough that I might have to consider another brand altogether, or just give up using telecoil.