Thresholds at 15 dB at 25 years old, normal hearing?

Hello everyone,

I’m a 25 years old musician and I recently took two hearing tests at two different audiologists.

For each test, my thresholds are at 15 dB or 10dB for each frequency tested.

Audiologists told me that my hearing was perfect and that I could not have better results, but I’m a bit suspicious.
Shouldn’t my thresholds be around 0 dB for each frequency at my young age ?
Isn’t 15 dB a significant hearing loss at 25 years old ?

Thanks by advance for your answers !

It’s within the “normal” range. It is quite possible that it used to be better and you have suffered some loss. So what to do? Hearing aids wouldn’t make any sense. Using ear protection to protect your hearing when exposed to loud noises (including lound music) would make sense. Worrying about a theoretical hearing loss won’t accomplish anything.

3 Likes

Well actually I really need to know if my hearing is “perfect” as the audiologists said, or if it’s really not that good for my age and has already declined.
Indeed, it will impact a lot of my choices, like maybe doing more acoustic music instead of starting a rock band.
I have always been careful about my hearing, always wore very efficient earplugs (-25 dB) during rehearsal and gigs, and I wasn’t a professional musician until this year, so the frequency of exposure to noise will be way higher in the future !

So my question is : is 0 dBHL purely theoretical or do most young people obtain this kind of thresholds when doing a hearing screening ? Is it possible that the audiometer calibration would have an impact on the results ?

If I have the hearing of a 40 years old person, I really need it to stabilize, and I prefer to still be able to hear people in 30 years than to be a rock star during 5 years and then wearing hearing aids.

I hope you understand my concerns :slight_smile:

Thanks by advance!