"Tackling the burden and shame of hearing loss"

An overview of where we are in 2019

https://undark.org/article/hearing-aid-technology-drugs/

1 Like

I have been wearing hearing aids for over 14 years and and should have been wearing them for at least a decade before then. Maybe it is just me , but it doesn’t bother me to let anyone know that I wear them.
Most people don’t even notice that I am wearing hearing aids, but they darn well would notice if I wasn’t wearing them.

And I don’t see a darn thing to be ashamed of. We are all human and I see no difference between wearing hearing aids and wearing glasses.

7 Likes

I’m young, active and wear hearing aids. I don’t give a rat’s ass about about anyone knowing I wear hearing aids. I wear red color RIC. I like the red color because it it shows that I’m not trying to hide my hearing aids. Also the red color is easiest to find if it falls on the ground.

Now showing up on a first date with a woman I met over over the internet might be a different story. Hey, you gotta play it cool or you might end up being an angry incel. For that it might be better to have a CIC and have just enough hair to cover it. A job interview could also be a good reason to have CIC. Other than that I don’t give a rat’s ass about any hearing loss stigma.

0 Likes

Good grief. That ridiculous saying. Not everybody gets to be the opposite all the time. Grow up and get on with it (not you). There’s no such thing as entitlement to another person.
Sorry
Trigger apparently.

0 Likes

I have in the past made it a point in my last job interview to let the interviewer know I was hard of hearing and wore hearing aids. And I got the job and was asked what could the company do to make my job easier. I always found it better to be up front and bluntly honest.

6 Likes