Switching to behind-the-ear hearing aids?

I have worn in the ear hearing aids for 15+ years and I was wondering about behind the ear.

• Are there more features in behind the ear?
  • Less infections, minor swelling or ear wax?
  • Do people get used to them easily? I don’t mind people see I wear hearing aids but wondered about comfort, etc.
  • If you switched, what do you think?

Thanks!

1 Like

I have been wearing hearing aids for just over 15 years, and all but about 4 years have been ITE hearing aids. But from 2010 to 2014 I wore receiver in the ear aids. I personally had issues with moisture with them more than with ITE ear hearing aids. Now I have to say my ITE ear aids have always been half shell or a little bigger aids, and not completely in the ear canal.
My issues were not with comfort or hearing issues but I believe just the fact that the aids I had were not meant for someone that is as active as I was and that I am. I sweat a lot and I hike, walk, and work in the yard a lot. Now I am looking at possibility getting the true BTE hearing aids this next time too. I do not have ear wax issues, but I do have allergies and cannot wear soft ear molds, or domes. For me the big added feature would be t-coils for use at our church services, if we are ever allowed to have them again. And also, movie theaters. The aids I have now have everything else built in.
To answer your question will you get use to them? My answer is this i get use to what ever I need to get use to. And I really want people to see my aids, I do point out the fact that I wear aids to people all the time. For me it is so I can make them understand they have to talk straight to me if they want me to understand them.

2 Likes