Swimming or diving with waterproof aids?

Anyone tried to swim/dive in water/sea with waterproof aids like Naida V90, which are IP68 rated?
Does it really work in real life?

You got me laughing…
Do not intentionally get any aids wet. Moisture/water and electronics do mix.
No matter what IP rating you see.

2 Likes

“The hearing aids are water and dust repellent to IP68 rating, You can get them wet, you can drop them in the toilet and you can go for a swim with them once it is only down to one metre.”

So this doesn’t actually mean anything? :\

I have been wearing water resistant aids for many years, including the Naida aids. I sweat big time and and get caught in rain sometimes. Always use a hearing aid dryer each night. Never had a problem until the RIC aids I now have got sweat I the receivers. They sputtered and I shook them out and wiped them off. They wee fine then.

I would absolutely not get aids wet on purpose.

I understand that, thank you.
I wouldn’t even ask if it wasn’t for thei clarification that you can dive up to 1 meter with naida v90…

No problem.
If you do some searching on this forum you will see lots of hearing aid problems due to moisture, even the IP 68 aids. Just not worth it.

1 Like

They claim v90 series to be IP68, but i get your point

I have V90 Nadia’s aids now. They are really nice aids but I would not get them intentionally wet. Period.

I understand, I just got my hopes up :slight_smile:

1 Like

If they were that watertight that you could swim with them … how do the batteries get the air they need to activate them? Even if rechargeable batteries, they would have to be vacuum-tight with no openings for mics or speakers or charging ports to keep water completely out. Note that the Apple Watch and iPhone that can be dropped in water must be purged of water after by running a program that uses strong low tones to blow out the water.