Suggested aid for left ear after SHL

New to the forum, and could not find anyone with a similar experience, so here is my question:

I experienced Sudden Hearing Loss about 3 years ago. Prior to that, I had pretty much equal “reverse slope” hearing loss profiles in both ears (yes, those are not typos in my signature!). But now my left ear drops off after about 3kHz. This creates a peak at that frequencey.

I want to get a single aid that will simply equalize my left ear to equal my right ear, and would like to restore my left ear high frequency response up to 8 or 10kHz, at least to equal my right. Also, I would like to be able to program the aid myself, as I am an electrical engineer with audio and computer experience.

Any suggestions from anyone? It seems that most aids drop off around 6kHz, so I would need one with better response than that, and also the ability to fine tune the equalization to avoid created a peak at 3kHz.

I am rather new to HAs, but here is my take:

• manufacturers frown on user programming, so that is not easy to find as a feature
  • normal sounds in those upper ranges are rare, so most HAs don’t address it

Trying to ‘match’ one ear to another is not easy. I have SSHL only in my left ear. Trying to get that ear to hear normally, as my right ear does, not just not happening. I am happy to have binaural hearing back with the HA in, but same level of hearing? Nope, not even close.

I’m sure others with more experience will be along and post.

… or it could be that user programming doesn’t produce good results and can do damage – especially if the gain is too high. Think of user programming being similar to simply selling all drugs over the counter, without requiring a prescription. Sounds above 6 KHz aren’t rare, but speech (the main reason many of us have hearing aids) doesn’t go much above 8 KHz.