Styles - BTE or ITE for Active Persons?

Hello, I am a newbie to the forum and to hearing aids in general. I have enjoyed these forums and found them very informative. Thank you all for the great postings.

I will be getting fitted for at least one hearing aid (right ear for sure) very soon and would appreciate some advice.

Should I consider wearing a BTE hearing aid? I am fairly active and practice Aikido 3 to 4 hours a week. I would like to be able to wear the HA during practice and was concerned that a BTE would fall off while rolling (we do lots of rolling). One of our Aikido senseis wears an ITE model so I thought that might be a better choice. Also I wear glasses and was concerned that they might interfere with a BTE model.

Would also like advice if I should wear a second HA in my left ear, where I have mild to moderate loss only.

I will ask these questions at the Audiologists but wanted to see what folks in the forum had to say.

Thank you and best regards.

If it were me I’d get two hearing aids, and they’d be ITE’s, or a custom in the ear aid like the GN ReSound Live 9 Remote Mic for the situation you describe. BTE’s aren’t necessarily an issue with glasses, but with the activity and rolling, I’d go ITE. You’ll likely have some occlusion at first, but should get used to it. That is, initially with ITEs you may feel plugged up and your own voice will sound different, but you’ll eventually not notice.

With that hearing loss, occlusion will not be a small issue - but a HUGE issue. The hearing in the low frequencies is way too good to get around occlusion, even with extended use.

With that being said, a BTE or RIC is what would best fit your loss, but an ITE would best fit your lifestyle. Unfortunately a BTE or RIC will never stay put during any kind of martial arts, being a fellow student myself.