SSHL - Advice for a newbie - ITE vs BTE

I’m very new (unilateral SSHL overnight) to hearing loss so I’ve got a lot to learn and I’ve found people here to be supportive and helpful.

I’ve got an urgent referral (next month) for NHS hearing aids, so I can keep working (even though my hearing loss is only moderate to severe as you move up the frequencies, but nothing like the severity of some of the audiograms I’ve seen here) I’m finding it very hard to hear what anyone is saying if there is any background noise, so I cannot here my kids when I’m cooking, when I’m out and about with them and I cannot participate at work in our open plan office or when on site with clients (which is a challenge as I’m a project manager).

I’m trying to find a sensible solution so I’m asking your advice.

I’ve been for a hearing test at Boots (UK high street chain) and the hearing test there matched that of the three I’ve had (while we tried steroid treatments) over the last three weeks. The audiologist there recommended pair of Phonak Audéo Lumity L90 and I’m currently wearing these on a 90 day return policy, so I can continue with some semblance of normality.

These are behind the ear ones which seem to work pretty well, just clash a bit with both my glasses and my confcall headset (I spend a lot of time on MS Teams every day).

So a couple of questions, do I need to have two hearing aids, is there any point in wearing two if my right ear is mostly fine?

In terms of speech differentiation, is there much of a difference between BTE and ITE (I’m learning!) hearing aids? I’ve seen Sony have some off the shelf ones with dual microphones and Phonak have just announced some new rechargeable Infinio(?) in ear aids.