Speech comprehension - how do I get it?

I have been trialing HA models for the last five months trying to find one that enables me to not only hear volume, but also understand what people are saying. Although every HA has increased the volume of speech, I cannot grasp (comprehend) it. Does this make any sense to anyone? (Is comprehension the same as clarity?)
The three BTE models I have tried are Sonic Velocity24, Phonak Excelia, and Widex Mind 440 Model M4-9. My audi has ordered Oticon which should be in this week - I don’t know yet which model.
I have become increasingly frustrated with the process and am wondering if any HA will allow me to not only hear (volume), but comprehend. Even with TV I continue to use the captioning to “understand”.
I would appreciate any advice. Thank you.:confused:

1 Like

When you had your hearing tested what was you speech comprehension at that time without wearing aids. Are you new to hearing aids? I mean if your comprehension was poor when tested then hearing aids aren’t going to do a whole lot. Sure, some may reduce background noise, and some may focus more on the speaker in front of you, but thta’s to remove interference. If your comprehension is poor you will continue to struggle. Remember aids don’t fix your hearing. They just try to help with what you have left. My comprehension is 46% in the right ear 56% in the left I use closed caption, movie theaters are awful and I make every effort to face the person who is speaking to me and watch their lips move. It’s not perfect but it helps.

NeilK gives a very thoughtful and detailed review of his experiences with Audeo YES and PURE 500s that might be interesting to you. The title of the particular thread is “Experiences With Phonak Audeo - YES HA’s?”

Audeo YES IX advertises a sound proceessing feature called SoundRecover that is designed to improve comprehension for people with HF loss. The Nadia also advertises this feature. Exelia does not.