Social Stigma

I posted this question a while back but i dont think anybody replied to me. Iv’e been hearing a lot about the social stigma attached to wearing hearing aids and it confuses me. I have also read that some people actually chooses not to wear hearing aids because of this stigma. Can someone pls tell me what social stigma is attached to hearing aids and if its really as bad as it sounds. I have had no experience in this since i started wearing my hearing aid. In fact, things have gotten better with friends, family and colleagues. Maybe im just blind to it?

To the best of my knowledge there is no social stigma attached to wearing aids. In my experience a person with an uncorrected hearing loss is far more noticeable than a person who wears hearing aids.

People I have known for years have been surprised to finally notice that I wear hearing aids, they hadn’t really paid that much attention. Most people are not very observant. We hearing aid wearers can spot another hearing aid wearer clear across the room.

Either that or they really don’t care.

I have short hair and my BTEs are visible. I like this because if I am having a problem hearing, the speaker does not have to say to himself, ‘is that guy hard of hearing or something?’ because they answer that question outright.

Like her or not, look what Sarah Palin did for eyeglasses!

One of the things I learned early on when I got aids 6+ years ago was that only other wearers recognize you have aids. No one else notices. I had this conversation at lunch with co-workers a few weeks ago, and two of us wear aids. Everyone else was very surprised to finally notice, after I blatantly pointed it out, that I was wearing hearing aids.

Stigma, what stigma?:stuck_out_tongue:

I decided a long time ago I should not concern myself with these kinds of personal problems people can have. :slight_smile:

Four eyes never bother me because I could finally see what I was missing. :slight_smile: